diabolical
diabolical
Episode 10: Hogwarts Legacy & Transphobia
0:00
-16:49

Episode 10: Hogwarts Legacy & Transphobia

Separating the art from the artist is an age-old challenge.

In my latest ramble, I discuss the upcoming video game Hogwarts Legacy, an open-world fantasy RPG set in the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. The game has become one of the most controversial in recent memory thanks to its association with author J.K. Rowling who has, inexplicably, enmeshed herself in one of the most divisive subjects in the culture wars. The game is destined to be the subject of a great deal of conversation and rancor in the coming weeks and months, a locus point in the ongoing pop culture wars, and something we can all agree we’re never going to agree on.

I discuss this in my latest video which I’ve also made into a podcast (audio up above). You can subscribe to my YouTube channel here, to the diabolical podcast on Apple Podcasts, and to this newsletter:

Here’s the video version:

What do you think of this topic and Hogwarts Legacy? What about Rowling? And do you want me to keep making my videos into podcasts here? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment

0 Comments
diabolical
diabolical
Erik Kain talks about video games, movies, politics and more with all the finest people.